Life with Nails

I bit my nails for most of my life. And, while I consider myself cured of biting, I still pick my nails.

I usually have 1-2 short nails at any given time, but right now, I am towards the zero short nails–which I am happy about.

I must remind myself to do nail maintenance–like buffing, filing, clippling and oiling my cuticles. These are things that most nail-centric people learn earlier in life; Because I was a biter, I missed the boat on this.

Had I not bitten my nails, I would also be able to perform normal human functions without scratching myself or breaking/bending a nail. Things like contacts wouldn’t be so scary.

Overall, I am really happy that I have nails, and I happily tap them like a raptor throughout the day. But, I also have to be mindful.

Am I sad that I quit biting? Not on your life. Just wonder if I should have succeeded sooner.

Leave a Reply

